Don't Miss This

The 2016 Heart of the Community Honorees Announced - Sunday, January 10, 2016

Seven local “ unsung heroes” — Elaina Beaman, Luke Chaffin, Tonya Marie Davis, Christa  Cline Jackson, Allison Smith  Watters, Vargo Orthodontics and Board of Governors honoree, Dr. Sidney A. Bell – have been selected as the recipients of the 2016 Heart of the Community Awards of Honor.

These honorees will be recognized on Feb. 20 at the 30th annual “Affair of the Heart.” These awards are sponsored each year by Redmond Regional Medical Center and produced by the Heart of the Community board of Governors.





The Heart of the Community Award honorees will be recognized on

Feb. 20 at the
 30th annual “Affair of the Heart” 


These awards are sponsored each year by Redmond Regional Medical Center and produced by the Heart of the Community Board of Governors.


For more information, Wanda Whitten, 706-802-3924.



Lauren Sklar returns as chair of Heart of the Community Foundation - Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Lauren Sklar has been appointed Chairman of the Heart of the Community Foundation Board of Governors for 2015-2016.

laurensklarThe “Heart of the Community Awards” recognition program is sponsored by Redmond Regional Medical Center and the Heart of the Community Foundation Inc. to honor local citizens for their volunteer service to our community.

Recipients of the award are honored at a black tie gala,” “Loving Hearts, Helping Hands.” The 30th annual event will be held on Saturday, Feb. 20, at The Forum. Proceeds will be designated for heart education and safety programs in Rome and Floyd County. Previously funded projects have included the Heart House for families of critically ill patients on the Redmond campus, AED units in public facilities in Rome, a par fitness course at Ridge Ferry Park, a serenity garden at Redmond and exercise equipment at the Thornton Recreation Center in Armuchee.

This past year the foundation made more than $45,000 in donations to the following community agencies: Boys and Girls Club, Summit Quest, South Rome Redevelopment Center and the Senior Adult Transportation Committee.

Lauren is a native Roman and has served the Rome Community with several agencies. She is an active member of First Baptist Church where she has previously served as a deacon and missions teacher at First Baptist.

A Leadership Rome graduate, she serves as the Vice President of Tiger Pride at Darlington, is a Community Kitchen volunteer and on the Rome Symphony Orchestra Debutante Ball Steering Committee. She also serves on the Junior Cotillion.

She and her husband, Marc Sklar, have two daughters, Abby and Emma.

Returning as Chairman of the Heart of the Community Board for the second time, Lauren will be serving with the following board members: Angie Beard, Brenda Bowen, David Brearley, Harry Brock, Kristy Brown, Lisa Butler, Steve Graves, Emily Hjort, Nancy Hunter, Dawn Irmscher, Mai Mai Kelly, Elaine Price, Rebekah Montgomery, Michelle Picon, Sammy Rich, Mimi Richards,  C.J. Robinson, David Smith and Esther Vaughn.